45/52: Insinc/ Travel smart rewards


I talked about insinc in my previous post and today I want to talk about it again.

Insinc has recently changed its name to travel smart rewards (TSR). I prefer the old name though.  The way they both work are the same.  First, you register the EZ-Link card or Nets Flashpay card that you used.  However, you will need to use the card a few times before TSR can detect its eligibility of for the program.

Points system
You collect the points by taking train trips. There are a few traveling period where the you can clock the most points when you tap into the train station for eg between 6:15 to 7:15 or 8:45 to 9:45 on weekdays. You can get 3, 4, 5 or 6 points per km if you are a Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum status respectively.  If you are a member of Corporate  TSR, then you can get 5, 6, 7 or 8 points per km for Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum status respectively.  You just change your email address to your work email address and you will be a member of the Corporate TSR.  As easy as ABC.

Read more in the TSR website.

How to redeem the points
You can redeem by spinning or by a cash buyout.  The latter doesn’t make sense to me cos you need 1000 points to redeem just $1 or 5000 points to redeem $5 .  For me, I just spin!  For a spin, I used to let the system autospin (automatic spin every saturday) for me using whatever points that I have accumulated over the week which I have won about $100 since I join TSR.  Recently, a collegue told me that she tends to win $ if she spins manually, so I also tried spinning but it seems that it works the other way for me.  Last Saturday, with my remaining 80 worth of points, I started spinning.  I was on Board 4 (where the top prize $200 is and where there are more boxes with $ and points) top second line and with the last spin, I saw myself moving towards the top prize box.  I was not thinking that much as I could earn either a $5 or $200 even if I did land on the $200 box.  (I am not sure how the system works in ths case where there is a $ and points in the same box, how does the system choose which one to reward you?) Suddenly, I saw the $200 flashed in front of my eyes and I went “WOAH” inside me!
IMG_6052.JPG
I am still recovering from the fact that I won $200.  Just the other day, I saw a man’s card flashed $200+ when he tapped into the train station and I thought to myself who the hell would top up $200 into the EZ-Link card.  Maybe he was also one of those lucky passenger who won the top prize from TSR. HAHA.

Leave a Reply

